Leadership Weekend

Are you a natural born leader? Do you like to participate in leadership opportunities? Are you currently in any leadership positions and want to continue doing leadership things in college? Did you answer yes to any of these questions? Then you should come to *drum roll please*….Leadership Weekend!!!

“What is leadership weekend?” you may ask. Well, my friend, it is an overnight event here at SUU. But not just any overnighter, a special one. It is for people who want to do something leadershipy (yes I just made that word up) in college. You come, we party and introduce you to different types of leadership positions we have at the school, you get to voice your opinion in which group to be placed in, we party some more and then you go home. Then a little while after the event, we contact you and let you know which group you made it into. You are the next generation of leaders!

Not so long ago, I was a senior, wanting to have some sort of leadership position at SUU. My sister convinced me to go to leadership weekend. I went and had a blast. I made new friends, got to know SUU a little more, and got a weekend away from my parents ;).

Now, I didn’t get put into the group I wanted, but I decided to try it out. I had a fantastic experience my freshman year that I never would have had if I hadn’t have gone to leadership weekend. After my freshman year though, I decided I wanted to try something else and I interviewed for a different group…and got in!

Moral(s) of my little story: you don’t have to accept the leadership calling if you don’t want it, you can try it out and then try something else if you want, or you can stay in it for as along as you like!

Even if you’re a little bit curious, you might as well come and try it out. What have you got to lose? If it’s not what you expected, you don’t have any commitments to keep. But if it’s awesome (which it obviously will be) you’ll all ready be set on making new friends in college, being involved in college (instead of watching Netflix all day) and guaranteed to have fun.

Here’s the link to find out more information on it and to sign up!

http://suu.edu/prostu/weekend/

Now, if you’re still thinking about it, let me encourage you with these wise words, “I will lead not follow! I will create, not destroy!”. I learned that saying in elementary school when a college came and gave their pep talk about leadership and not doing drugs. That’s the line that has stuck with me all these years. Be a leader! Don’t be a follower!

Leave a Reply

