Story Time with Dyls: “Listen to Your Heaaarrt”

Gather round the campfire y’all! It’s time for Story Time with Dyls!

Once upon a time there was a girl named Dylan who believed she had to have everything figured out by the end of high school. She really loved Graphic Design (and secretly knew that’s what she wanted to do with her life,) but thought that she should be more practical and study something like Nutrition that she felt was more “acceptable”. Then Dyls– *ahem* I mean that one chick Dylan, got a job on campus two years later as a graphic designer for the Michael O. Leavitt Center for Politics and Public Service. This job made her remember how much she loved being creative and she finally realized her career calling in life. After four semesters of flip-flopping between majors, she mustered up the courage one snowy day in November and switched her major to graphic design. Rumor has it she’s never been happier, and hasn’t looked back since!

SPOILER ALERT: Ok so obvi this is about me.

Picking a major is a SCARY THING. And just like the story said above, I thought I had to have everything figured out as soon as I got to SUU. Yeah about that… I’m a junior and just added one extra year plus, to my college career.

Do I regret it?

Not in the slightest.

If I wouldn’t have spent that time taking nutrition, rock-climbing, and a slew of other random classes, I know for a fact that I would have been continuously second guessing myself about my first choice. Those two years taught me some lessons and I wouldn’t change that for anything.

  1. They taught me that sometimes you have to take a risk.
  2. That believe it or not it is actually okay to make mistakes,

and most importantly, and I want you to sing this,

3. “Listen to your heart.”

Know what I’m sayin?

It’s okay to be human.

And it’s also okay to have a fabulous day.

DSC_0058

Leave a Reply

