Short and Sweet (and Productive.)

Fun fact? Schools are brilliant at planning breaks.

Just as you are starting to get bogged down with work and homework and 8 am classes, they throw in a holiday–um jk just realized it’s not the school that plans breaks but whatever. #progovernment

This break has been a good one.

Not only have I thoroughly been able to enjoy OFFICIALLY being a Graphic Design major (holla!) whose homework includes get this, “drawing” and “playing with a camera,” I have also been able to finally get organized and somewhat put my life in order now that Christmas break is over. My planner is now filled with project deadlines, birthdays, etc., my Nike Training Club app is in full swing with my workouts scheduled for the week (Shout out to Shanwow), and I even have time to do my hair sometimes. Impressive right?

Now I know you are asking yourself, “Dylan, how are you just SO productive ALL the time?”

Well my dear friend, “I gotta lifetime a knowledge.” (Ten points to Gryffindor if you can name that movie,) and I am more than willing to share with you my secrets. Shh…

Productivity

It’s pretty self-explanatory. But I’ll go through it quickly with you.

FIRST:  GO TO BED EARLIER, WAKE UP EARLIER. Even if it’s only fifteen minutes. Dare you to try it out.

Second:  Use Sunday nights to your advantage! Write down what you’ve got going on for the week so you can stay on top of the game and on track.

Third:  Pump up the JAMZ. (Yes with a “Z”.) Play some music you know will boost your energy and mood. Suggestions include but are not limited to: Beyoncé, Justin Timberlake, Jay-Z, Fitz and the Tantrums, and the like.

Fourth: Figure out what is most important and get it done first! Duh.

Fifth: Work in intervals. Even if it’s on for thirty minutes, break for sixty. Do what you gotta do.

Sixth: JUST DO IT! Say no to #procrastinationnation

Seventh: Do whatever you need to do to remember what you need to get done and to stay motivated to do it. (Props if you followed that last sentence.) List it, doodle it, write it, type it.

Eighth: Take a water break and don’t forget to breathe. Probably the most important one because if you forget to breathe you die.

And finally: As my dear friends Tom Haverford and Donna Meagle once taught me, “Treat yo’self.” Once you accomplish something important, take time to appreciate what you’ve just done and reward yourself for it! Get a smoothie, some hot chocolate, an orange; whatever you need to do to tell yourself, “Heck yeah babe! KILLIN it.”

Remember, these are just some things that help me out. Don’t be afraid to utilize some of your own! Like petting dogs or something…

Keep up the good work champ, and stay strong! You got this.

Oh, and also enjoy the last day of the break.

Peace and Blessings.

Leave a Reply

