Lessons learned every day

Hey guys! I hope that you’ve all been having an awesome fall/winter season and that mid-terms didn’t get you into a huge rut. Just remember to remain confident and calm! Things are going to be just fine.

Those are actually the exact words I told myself last night. I had the awesome opportunity to participate in the communication department’s speech contest! I’ve done speech and debate for 5 years but let me tell you, I still get super nervous when I have to stand in front of a very large group of people to speak! Last night the room was packed and my knees were wobbling. I kept having to remind myself all night long that I was going to be just fine and all I needed to do was remain confident with myself! When it was finally my turn I went up on stage, with my knees still wobbling, but I did it. I was able to stand up for 6 minutes and give my speech! I did pretty well and just because we are all super hyper critical of ourselves, I still feel like I could have done better. But the real thing that matters the most is that I did it. I spoke and gave my speech to all those students watching despite how many butterflies were tearing up my insides. And that’s what you need to do to. Life is going to be full of those moments where your palms are sweaty and your knees can’t stop smacking together, but you’re going to have to take a running leap of faith and do whatever it is that’s making you feel so nervous. Whether it’s applying for college, choosing classes, talking to your professor for the first time, or even asking out that cute girl or boy you’ve seen around. What really do we have to lose? Every experience we have leads us to grow and become new and better people. Life is great and wonderful! Don’t be afraid to start something new! Here at SUU, they give you so many opportunities to grow and change for the better. Don’t be afraid of changing, because as we all can attest to, change is the most consistent thing in the world.

Leave a Reply

