A Screamin’ Good Time.

This past Friday SUUSA brought the PARATY to Southern Utah Universitay (rhyme intended) when they hosted The Scream. This dance, deejayed by noneothathan DJ Marcus Wing was off both the chain AND the charts (someone’s gotta say it, might as well be me.) Even though it ended at one, I danced my little skeleton heart out till about three in the morning.

My post-Scream recuperation the next day was a little unusual. I planned on sleeping for at least half the day and certainly was not planning on being productive.

Then, I got the call. (#Sorrynotsorry couldn’t resist.)

Some friends of mine were going canyoneering up Leeds canyon and invited me to come with. After much deliberation (Starbucks v. No Starbucks, napping v. exerting effort, pj’s v. actual clothes,) I packed up my hiking gear and got ready to go.

Easily the best decision I could have made.

The weather was perfect, the canyon was quite literally awesome, and the drive to and from wasn’t bad either. I made some new friends, reconnected with old ones, and was able to enjoy a part of the southern Utah that I had never experienced before.

1235412_10201934670064941_1520760566_n

1382332_10201934684865311_2034088001_n

1385691_10200769973592372_503288856_n

1377457_10200769977952481_483620532_n

I’ve always known that I live in a beautiful place, but Saturday made me realize that I have been taking for granted other people’s word and not making the time to experience it for myself. I am surrounded by at least a dozen state and national parks which not too many people can (factually) say, and I plan on taking full advantage that while I am down here.

Whether you live where I do, in another state, or in another country, I dare you to take a minute or two to take in and experience your current surroundings.

I promise it will be worth it.

Leave a Reply

