Change…. its all part of the process

When getting ready for college, there is a TON on your mind. Where am I going to live? (University Housing is a fantastic idea for your first year!) What classes am I going to take? Will I meet lots of new people? Will I be able to make friends? However, I think the most important question that all of us had, still have, and will have is what to I want to study? Why am I coming to school?

When I was in 6th grade I read a book about CSI and I knew from that moment on I wanted to work in the criminal justice field. The ideas of exactly what I wanted to do changed from CSI to Forensics Pathologist to Criminal Profiler. Pretty soon I was settled and I knew that I would be studying to become a profiler and I would then hopefully make it into the FBI. I was set. I had my life plan. Things were going so well! Then, all of the sudden, I decided I wasn’t happy. I thought I knew what I wanted to do and I thought that my life plan was so fantastic! However recently it struck me that this wasn’t the field I wanted to be me. The idea didn’t come from my lack of love for the classes or CJ department because those professors and classes are amazing. It came from the fact that I wanted to be in a field that helped people more and I wanted to work with children. I started to think of which major I could switch to and then it hit me. I wanted to be a kindergarten teacher. I wanted to teach little kids and help them grow to their full potential! It was such a changed and a shock to me that I really wasn’t sure if this is what I wanted to do. However, I came around and I am proud to say that I switched my major to Elementary Education and I’m as happy as I can be!

What I wanted you to take from this was it’s fine if you come into college without having an idea of what you want to study. It’s ok if half way through the year you change your mind and you decided that you want to study something else. The thing you need to remember is that you need to do something that makes you happy. You need to do something, where for the rest of your life, you go into work feeling like its something that you love and never want to stop doing. I’m half way through my 2nd year of school and I’m just starting out on a new path. It doesn’t matter how late into the game you are, if you need to study something else, then by all means, go on and do it. SUU’s academic advising is absolutely amazing and will help you get everything sorted out.

So come out to SUU and do something that makes you happy. 🙂 Everything here is top notch and you’ll be able to feel right at home and comfortable with what ever decision you make.

One thought on “Change…. its all part of the process

  1. Pingback: It’s people like this. | #tbirdnation

Leave a Reply

