Senator Domgaard

Senate

Hello SUU,
My name is Shawn Domgaard and I’m a T-Bird (the true kind, not just regular type). I’ve been one for about 5 years now and I love it here. I have my Bachelors degree in Public Relations/Communication Studies and a Minor in English in Creative Writing. That was always a mouthful when I told people what my major was. I’m happily married to a beautiful lady that I met here, at the Library on the second floor, and we’re more in love than ever. I’m now a Masters Student in the Professional Communication program. Outside of that, I’m also on the Academic Senate as the Graduate Senator along with a bunch of really outstanding people. I was the HSS Senator last year and enjoyed it so much I ran again.  I’m the one in the black shirt, second to the last.  Also the tallest, (in case the other descriptors didn’t work for you).

Being a Masters student is a whole different ball game than undergrad.  It’s definitely a step up, but in a good way.  You are required to think a lot more critically about the things you study and there’s no way of getting out of the reading like I know all of you try to do in undergrad.  The other big difference is you only get one class a week, for about 2 hours and 20  minutes, so ditching class or “sluffing” as we say in this great state, just ain’t gonna cut it.  I’d have to say the hardest thing to get used to though, is the time.  My classes all start around 5:00 pm and leave me only a few hours at night.

So if I’ve deviated your well-thought-out ambitions of attending the Masters Program, then for shame.  You are not worthy of its prestigious ranks.  But really, it’s not bad at all, just different.  I actually love it, and it gives me plenty of time to work and get my homework done (cause school ain’t cheap and homework doesn’t do itself).

I also have time to stay involved.  The Senate is a great place to get things done for this University.  If you have something to say, come say it to us, we have an open forum every Thursday in the Entertainment Bureau, and if you don’t know where that is, it’s in the long hallway that has all the restaurants attached to it in the Sharwan Smith building, right next to the Post Office with all the glass windows.  It’s honestly pretty easy to find.  We’d love to hear from you.  We just amended the Constitution for SUU and have been allocating some of your student fees to academic endeavors, so if you want to know how your hard earned tuition money gets spent, come see us.

Well, I’m going to leave you with another picture of myself, because I’m narcissistic like that, but mostly so you can see my beautiful wife and know how lucky I am.  Keep on keepin on SUU!

-Shawn Domgaard

Graduation

Leave a Reply

