The Lasts of the Firsts

This summer was one of the best summers I have ever had. Why? Well let me tell you.

This was my second summer that I have decided to stay in Cedar City and work. I have had the incredible opportunity to work on the beautiful campus for the past couple of years and this summer was no exception. The days were spent working and the nights were spent with friends. Our favorite activities this summer included taking a picnic to the Lake on the Hills, attending the Greenshow at the Utah Shakespeare Festival, watching the start of the Tour of Utah (the largest bicycle stage race in the nation), and basically spending as much time as possible outdoors.

Paint Dance

Paint Dance

Tour of Utah

Tour of Utah

Shakespeare Play

Shakespeare Play

Sunset at the Lake on the Hills

Sunset at the Lake on the Hills

As usual, summer went by all too fast and the first day of Fall Semester arrived. I don’t think I have ever been so nervous about a first day of school in my life. This first day of school was my last first day at SUU. Not only was I nervous, but I was extremely excited to see what my Senior year had in store for me. My free time would now be time for homework, graduate school applications, and other extracurricular activities that I am involved with. The most exciting thing about the beginning of a new semester was having everyone back on campus. There is nothing better than being able to walk across campus and catching up with friends that you haven’t seen for a couple of months.

A week has now gone by and I can gladly say that my Senior year has been everything I have hoped for and more. As I embark on this journey of last’s, I move forward with the goals of no regrets and taking advantage of every opportunity that comes my way. After all, once a t-bird always a t-bird.

Leave a Reply

