It’s more than just going to school…

SUU has a ton of amazing events that they put on for not only high school seniors, but juniors as well. Everything from Senior Overnights and Expos to Open houses and Junior Previews. All of these programs are amazing, but nothing is as good as SUU’s Leadership Weekends. This amazing event gives high school seniors a chance to come to SUU for a Friday and Saturday to tour campus and housing as well as get a feel of college life. The reason for the whole event however, is the chance to be introduced to all the leadership organizations on campus that you, as a student, can become part of. The idea that one can get involved in more than just academics here at college should be enough to perk anyone’s interest.

This past weekend, we had our first Leadership Weekend, and it has been on my mind a lot lately. I am very passionate about Leadership Weekends because I attended one my senior year and I can honestly say that in some small way, it changed my life. Up until that point, I was very scared about college and moving away from home. I knew I could do it, but the thought was just scary. When I came here to SUU for that weekend all of my doubts and worries were washed away. I had the time of my life. The people that I met and the things that I did where so much fun and really got me excited to move down to SUU. The kids that were in my PD (Personal Development) Group are still my friends today. I even get to work with some of them with in my leadership organization! Not only do I still talk to my peers from that group, my PD group leaders (2-3 older students who are assigned to be leaders for the weekend) Kyle and Shaun are still my really close friends as well. In fact, Kyle is my Resident Assistant for my floor!

I am so glad that I took the chance that I did and came to SUU to participate in Leadership Weekend. From that I was able to get involved with the Community Attaches (one of leadership organizations for University Housing. Simply described as basically ambassadors for housing) and become the President of the group as well. I have had a LOT of interaction with many people who are important to the university, giving me valuable references and assets to my resume. It is really nice to go to someone who plays a big part in the university for something such as a reference for a job or application for something else on campus.

Here at SUU your academics should come first and foremost. You are paying big bucks to get an education that will take you places in life, however coming to college and already having something more to be a part of is a big deal. Your college experience should be more than just school work and sleep. Get involved and make your mark on the university. Being a part of one of SUU’s 9 leadership organizations can do just that for you. So, don’t hesitate to sign up for the next one that rolls around. You won’t be sorry you did!

Here is my PD Group from my Leadership Weekend :) The one in the black jacket and hat in the front and the one in red in the back are the best PD group leaders ever.

Here is my PD Group from my Leadership Weekend 🙂 The one in the black jacket and hat in the front and the one in red (also my RA this year) in the back are the best PD group leaders ever.

OPAH!!!

OPAH!!!

This was right before our Balloon Drop our last day of the weekend :D

This was right before our Balloon Drop our last day of the weekend 😀

And just something for your viewing pleasure, this is my PD group’s skit for the last day. It was, hands down, the best one of the weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

