That time I dressed like a bear …

… and walked down Main Street.

Each year, there is a Storybook Children’s Parade in Cedar City. It usually happens in December, but it was moved to an earlier weekend this year. There are Disney characters, princesses, Star Wars characters, Teletubbies, Marvel Comic characters, and animals (just to name a few).

I was a bear. And, as my friends and I soon discovered, everything is funnier when you’re in a big character suit. You can’t see to give high-5s to little children that run up to you … your “head” flops around when you run forward, your zipper might break mid parade (maybe that’s just me), or your costume might have 12″ of padding and result in quite the sweat suit.

Doesn’t it look like fun? We went to the grocery store after the parade because, like I said, everything is hilarious in a costume.

Five friends walking in the parade — Maid Marian, Robin Hood, & his “merry rodents.”

My roommate took this awesome picture of me. I was pretty proud of my jumping skills here.

As it turns out, being in the parade wears you out! Here we are, all tuckered out in the back of the truck on the way home.

Cedar City is known as Festival City, USA, and I’ve been able to participate in many of them while living here. The tight-knit community really comes together, especially for events like these. I am lucky to have such great experiences while attending SUU!

Leave a Reply

