A glimpse into the design world.

The final posters from our class project.

This summer, I decided I wanted to take a graphic design class. I’m not a graphic design major … or minor. But, I was interested in a class called typography. Not sure what that is? Let me tell you. It’s the “art & type of arranging type in order to make language visible.” As my teacher says, “typography is what language looks like.”

I’ve always been fascinated by banners … menus … store logos … font choices. Sound familiar? Then you ought to take this class. Sound dreadful? You should stick with what you love.

This class has prerequisite courses, but I was able to get the approved signatures in order to take this class this semester. We just finished project two, which has been my favorite.

We had to design a poster using a letterpress (as in, the tool used to print things in the beginning). Quotes were selected from the plays Hamlet and Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead.  My quote is from Hamlet & says, “Though this be madness, yet there is method in’t.”

We had to set the type (letter by letter), set spacing, and roll ink over the letters. Then we printed each poster, one by one. Each is a little different. And I love it.

Yesterday we had our class critique & then a few were selected (mine included) for the display case. Here are a few photos:

This is a collage of the first day of printing. I accidentally used a little too much ink .. and ended up with a stained red hand for about a day.

Before we distributed our posters to each class member, we signed them (like a real artist) . Finally, there is a picture of me standing by the display case where my poster will be for a few months.

I am glad that I chose to take this class. It challenges me. It stretches me. But, overall, it helps me see creatively.

Leave a Reply

