Would you like sprinkles with that?

On Saturday, my friends and I helped at an elementary school carnival. This is the third year I’ve helped at this event. Other years, I’ve been in charge of various “carnival” type games, but this year we were in charge of caramel apples. Believe it or not, this job can become a little hectic when anxious children (and their parents) line up for a freshly dipped caramel apple.

After the apples were rolled in caramel, I had the job of dipping the apples in sprinkles (chocolate or rainbow?). We went through phases of mostly chocolate, then mostly rainbow, and then a spurt of “caramel only” fans. By the way, I was dressed up as “Rosie the Riveter.” Though the kids probably didn’t realize I was in costume, most of the adults caught on to the idea.

We looked down and happened to see this on the table. My friend pointed out its skeletal appearance. Coincidence right before Halloween? Hmm…I don’t know about that! A little spooky, right?

I look forward to the kids’ carnival every year. It’s fun to see the costumes and play games for the elementary kids. This was my last year (since I’m graduating) but at least I was able to go one more time!

And since this week is Halloween, Happy Haunting! What are you dressing up as?

One thought on “Would you like sprinkles with that?

Leave a Reply

