Beautiful Sunday

Last Monday I didn’t write anything for #tbirdnation. I can imagine how heartbroken all of you were because you didn’t get to read  my witty writings.
But I do have a valid excuse: it was fall break! And I was doing something amazing!

Utah is the outdoor adventurer’s dreamland. There are a bajillion acres of federal/state land set aside for recreation. These include, but aren’t limited to, national parks, national monuments, national historic sites, state parks, state landmarks, etc. Utah has a five national parks. And they’re all within a relatively short driving distance of Southern Utah University.

Here’s what I did:

48 hours.
4 National Parks.
2 State Parks.
1 National Monument (Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. No pictures of that one. And I forgot to put it on the map below. My bad).
855  miles in a glorious loop around Southern Utah.

This is the route we (me and my folks) took in 48 hours! We made the town of Green River our “base camp” because we could get a hotel room there (there weren’t any to be found in Moab) and my parents didn’t want to camp because they’re getting old and prefer running water and temperature control. Ha.

Here are highlights from the trip.

We hiked to Delicate Arch in Arches National Park in the dark before dawn so that we could watch the sunrise light up the park. It was totally worth waking up at 04:45.

View from one of the lookout points in Canyonlands National Park. This place is so massive! And ridiculously beautiful.

We then went to Dead Horse Point State Park. I can’t seem to find those pictures so I guess you’ll just have to go there and see it for yourself.

At the entrance to Goblin Valley State Park. Majestic Wild Horse Butte in the background.

Look at all the goblins!

Momma Linda and me standing in front of Hickman Bridge, a natural arch in Capitol Reef National Park. Notice how we’re sporting our SUU red?

The last stop on our large loop!

I had never been to Arches, Cayonlands, Dead Horse Point, or Goblin Valley. It’s crazy that I’ve lived here in Southern Utah for the majority of my life and hadn’t yet visited  these truly rugged majestic landscapes until now. The longest drive is a mere four and-a-half hour drive to these places of ethereal beauty. The next time I have some change for gas and some extra time, I’mma pack my bags (and a tent!) and further explore these lands set aside for our enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

