I Saw Red

Ladies and gentlemen,

I present to you: a party. Southern Utah University style.

Last week was my first homecoming week as a student at SUU (I started here last spring). The activities and events that were planned did not disappoint.

Already mentioned on #tbirdnation was the SUUper Hero Photbooth, the homecoming queen pageant, and powder puff football. There was also a movie night with SUUper Hero themes: The Incredibles and The Avengers. Then Friday happened. And it rocked my socks off (Not literally. It’s just a common idiom).

My evening started with me participating in an SUU Choirs alumni concert. This year was a first for this new tradition. It’s amazing to see these former SUU students years later and how much they still love their school and how much they treasure the music training and education they received at SUU.

I then headed over to the upper quad for Forever Red- the homecoming party that makes all other parties pale by comparison. Seriously. Forever Red had it all: food (I ate so many yummy taquitos), live music, dancing, scholarship drawings, pep rally, and fireworks.

The bands who performed were the Joe Muscolino Band (a fun, snappy, dancy, cover band) and A Rocket to the Moon (a very popular rock group).
Joe Muscolino Band has performed at SUU at past events and they are always entertaining and a blast to dance to. They know how to get a crowd moving and swaying to the beat.
As far as A Rocket to the Moon were concerned, I had never heard of them, so I listened to a couple of their recordings online. I’m not going to lie, I wasn’t too excited. Luckily, they are skilled musicians and they know how to party! It was seriously one of the most fun concerts I have been to. ARTTM even did the Thunder train cheer with everyone. And they did an encore for us because they are just that awesome.

So here are some pictures. Enjoy!

The energetic and always entertaining Joe Muscolino Band performs for the dancing audience of students, alumni, and community members. Photo courtesy of Scott Sessions.

ARTTM made the point that we are a happy student body. Also, aren’t those round lights cool? Photo courtesy of Brantz Woolsey

Nick Santino of A Rocket to the Moon sings. And he sings well. Photo courtesy of Lauren Halley.

People on the upper quad having a good time. Buildings like historic Old Main (1898) were lit in red. Photo courtesy of Alex Jones.

The Carter Carillon looks good in red. Photo courtesy of Cadence Omana.

I can’t wait for the Forever Red party next year!

One thought on “I Saw Red

Leave a Reply

