13.1 miles

My awesome (and super talented) roommate Amanda also ran the race. This was taken pre-race as we stood in line for the port-a-potties. Classy.

On Saturday, I crossed an item off my bucket list. It’s something that’s been on my list for years, but that I didn’t decide to attempt until the end of July. Training ensued & on Saturday, I ran the Cedar City Half Marathon. That’s right. 13.1 miles. And you know what? I enjoyed it quite a lot!

It was mostly downhill, starting about 10 miles up Cedar Canyon. If you’ve never been on a drive through that canyon (one of my favorite things to do in the fall), let me just tell you that it is beyond beautiful. As the race started, I couldn’t believe it was actually happening. I was smiling as I realized that I was finally accomplishing a goal that always seemed so hard & out of reach.

Amanda and I post race. We look good, don’t we?

The best miles were 8-10. ¬†Realizing that I will still running … that I hadn’t stopped … that I was enjoying myself? The hardest moment came at mile 12, when the finish line was in sight, but the race course had you looping around a neighborhood. But, it was okay in the end! I did it. And, I finished at 2:03, which was a half hour faster than my goal time, so that was a pleasant surprise.

Here I am, the finish line in sight & then with my mom after crossing the finish line. I was so happy to see her & to be done!

And, even though I’m sore and have had trouble walking (especially up and down stairs) the past few days, it was worth it. So worth it. I’m even looking into the next race to run …

But, at least you know that I’m only half crazy.

2 thoughts on “13.1 miles

Leave a Reply

