Last Friday Night

One of the most frequent questions I get asked from being a native Cedarian is, “What is there to do here?”

It’s true, Cedar City is a small town and doesn’t have the “glitz and glamor” of the big city like a mall or Major League Baseball, but it offers so much! Seriously. Whenever I am asked that question, I get frustrated and say, “Are you kidding me?! I have to pick and choose all the activities I want to do!” And then I proceed to go on a five minute rant about all the things there are to do.

Case in point: Last Friday night.

I went to this little concert:

I was only able to stay for the first two acts (Sam and Jamie) and my mind was blown! There was so much talent and originality. Many of the songs were original and… my words fail me. Seriously. I was über impressed with my fellow members of the #tbirdnation.

I’m all smiles as I listen to SUU’s vice-president of clubs and organizations, Sam, serenade us with his mad acoustic and vocal skills.

The reason I could only stay for the first two acts was because I was went to another concert (see what I mean by picking and choosing?).

Every September and January, under the direction of percussion faculty extraordinaire Dr. Lynn Vartan, SUU’s College of Performing and Visual Arts presents the Satellite Salon Series– a unique exhibition that fuses music and visual art, bringing in special guest artists from around the nation. September’s theme was entitled “Common Threads” and featured sa-weet art quilts by SUU’s assistant professor of art education Deborah K. Snider, and Matthew Coley who is an award-winning marimba artist, a percussionist, and he featured his Appalachian hammered dulcimer. Yes. Dulcimer. You can click here to see a recording of one of the pieces he performed. Not only was Matthew fantastically talented, but he was a way nice guy. He showed me how the dulcimer worked and he came to SUU’s football game against New Mexico Highlands the next day.

During the intermission, members of the audience were invited to cut out a piece of fabric in the shape of a leaf that would be part of an art quilt made by Deborah during the second half of the concert. Neat, eh?

On one side of the stage Deborah and a student arrange the quilt pieces. On the other side Mr. Coley (dulcimer) and Dr. Vartan (marimba) play Bach.

Guest artist Matthew Coley and his hammered dulcimer.

Artists of the concert (including SUU percussion students) with the finished quilt.

So if you ever find yourself wondering what there is to do, please ask and you will be rewarded with a list of things to do as long as your left arm.

Leave a Reply

