Politically Palatable Part II

Remember this post? Politically Palatable

If you don’t, I am not going to freak out. I mean it only talked about a time when the Majority Leader of the US Senate was on campus. NBD. One of the biggest events on campus this year. NBD. I am not mad. If you do remember, thank you blessed one.

Well, I guess you can say that I have come full circle in the past year from the town hall meeting US Sentaor Mike Lee put on back in September. I am an intern over at the Speech and Presentation Center working on getting my speech writing certificate. Sage Platt, one of the best people I know, informed me about three weeks ago that I would be writing a speech for Mike Lee for his town hall meetings in Blanding and Green River. So, another intern, Carlie, and I have been Facetimeing with the Senator Lee’s office back in DC trying to figure out that logistics of this whole writting a speech for someone that I have never met before.

I have to say that I am quite terrified of the whole situation. It freaks me out handing over my written work to be criticized by a member of congress and his staff.  I have never even been to Blanding, UT, so trying to write a speech that will appeal to that audience has been hard. Luckily, the people who work for Lee have been SUPER great to work with. One of them even Facetimed with us when he was off of work because it was the only time that we had to meet. He will give the speeches the first week of April, so this is really our last few days to polish off the speeches.

Now I am going to go on a soapbox. Apple, you are a really great company. I love your products. I am not a member of the Apple Cult 100% yet, but it is only a matter of time. But, your advertisements for Facetime should be considered false advertising because you tell me that I am going to look so cool while Facetimeing my BFFs.

“Oh hey, I am just Facetimeing you from this really awesome, perfectly lit, street market on my iPad with a fashion forward scarf on looking so fly. Thought you might like to see it. NBD.”

False.

This is what I look like when I am Facetimeing someone.

Congratulations on being a hot mess, Sam.

Leave a Reply

