What could be better?

This semester is CRAZY. I have no doubt that the coming months will include many hours in the library, in the Mac lab on campus, & in professor’s offices for help during “office hour” (thank goodness for that! It will be a saving grace this semester). But, we can get into all that another week. For now, I wanted to share with you one of my favorite classes that I’m taking this semester. It is called Social Media. You already know it has to be good, right? Well, I guess some people might not be as … interested (I refrain from using the word obsessed here) in Social Media, but I, as you might have guessed, am not one of those people.

Even though this class is my earliest at 8:30 a.m., I am excited to go twice a week. Not only is my professor fantastic (click here to find out more about Ellen Treanor) and enthusiastic about teaching, but she has provided many opportunities for us to not only learn about important social media networks, but we will also learn how businesses use social media for marketing. These techniques are key for surviving in the “real world” after college if I want to pursue a career that involves social media (which I do).

So, right now each classmate is presenting on a social media platform & as Ellen says, “becoming an expert” in that field. My assigned platform is Tumblr. Here is my Tumblr and fellow Tbirdnation blogger Sam’s Tumblr, which he created when he took the social media class last spring. We started last week & learned about Twitter, Blogger, and LastFM. There are so many social media networks out there & I’m excited to learn more about them all during  this semester!

Plus, we have to use these sites for our class …which means instead of Facebook being a distraction, I can say it’s for an assignment 😉

Leave a Reply

