Baby Food

Remember last year how I was a Resident Assistant? I do. Remember how much I loved my little residents, so I called them my babies? I do. Remember how there is a part of my that misses my babies? I do.

To try and make up for the void in my heart, I had a gathering with some of my babies this weekend. Although these ladies weren’t residents of my floor (Cedar Hall 2200), they were definitely my girls. Not kissing girls though, that is against the rules of being an RA. We now live in completely different parts of Cedar City and barely see each other on campus, so I don’t get my dose of babies like I need.

Sam with his babies

Doesn’t it just melt your heart to see me with my children?

So, you might be wondering, “Why do I care, Sam?” Beyond the fact that blogging sometimes allows you to personally indulge yourself, you care because I am going to share with you a college friendly recipe that will impress friends, parents, and dates (hola).

Kari, the baby on the top right hand corner of the table , made Chicken Parmesan for dinner. It looks like this:

Chicken Parmesan

Don’t worry because this recipe barley has any measurements. It is designed to be simple. If you want step by step instructions and pictures this website will give you some, but it is a very involved recipe. Believe in your inner Mario Batali.

You Need:
– 4 Chicken Breasts (however many people your serving)
-Any large bottle of spaghetti sauce (if you have as many people as we did, you will need two)
-Italian bread crumbs
– 8 Mozzarella cheese
– 2 to 3 tablespoons Olive oil (or canola, olive is just healthier)
-Butter
-Spaghetti noodles

Directions:
-Heat olive oil in frying pan(just enough to barely cover bottom of pan)

-In a separate pan, get a pot of boiling water going

-Melt butter
-Dip chicken breast in butter
-Dip chicken breast in plate of bread crumbs, be sure to cover both sides
-Fry chicken in frying pan (once the oil is hot)
-When side is golden brown lift pieces of chicken one at a time and add a little more olive oil underneath each piece, and flip.
-Once both sides are golden brown just keep flipping chicken evenly until cooked all the way through(no longer having to add more oil)
-Once cooked add a slice of mozzarella cheese on top of chicken, until melted
-Continue until you have cooked all of the chicken breasts
-Add your spaghetti sauce over chicken, have enough to create enough sauce for spaghetti noodles as well
-Put lid on and put on medium for about 10 min. then let simmer until sauce is hot or ready to serve.

-Once the pot of boiling water is ready add spaghetti noodles,
(be sure to do this while your chicken is still cooking!)

You serve the chicken and sauce on top of the noodles, top with Parmesan cheese, and everyone will love. Trust me. Unless they are allergic to something in the dish. Then they might hate it.

Anyone else have college friendly recipes to impress?

6 thoughts on “Baby Food

  1. Since you asked…

    OLIVE CHEESE BREAD
    1 loaf French bread
    1 6 oz can black olives, roughly chopped
    1 6 oz jar green olives, roughly chopped
    2 green onions, chopped
    1 stick butter
    1/2 cup mayonnaise,
    1/4 pound Monterey Jack Cheese

    Combine olives, green onions, butter, mayonnaise and cheese. Slice French bread lengthwise. Spread the mixture evenly onto both halves of the bread. Place the loaves on a cookie sheet and bake 325 degrees for 25 minutes, or until cheese is totally melted and the top is beginning to turn light brown. Slice to serve. Tastes great with tomato soup.

  2. Pingback: It is the Ray Bans? « tbirdnation

Leave a Reply

